BC Juniors Global

Join Barclay College students as they learn about Christian life, service, and leadership in the global classroom.

Break My Heart for What Breaks Yours

Leave a comment

My heart is heavy, seeing first hand of a  child being used right in front of my eyes. A small girl stood next to us we finish eating dinner. One gives her some money and as she goes to leave the resturant she hands off the money to an older man. I thought Pattaya’s Walking Street shattered my heart but as I, more and more, becoming aware, when you pray for the Lord to break your heart so your eyes can be further opened he is sure to be faithful. I say this because just before the small girl we took notice to the waiting staff was all younger teens. It was then I was praying for God to break my heart more.

The more I’m here, the more I feel my heart being tugged for the people. I’ve always loved Asia, and its people, and I also very much have a call to the world. So, it is hard for me to begin to discern where God wants me to start in the world.

This verse;

“When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.  Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”

Matthew 9:36‭-‬38 NIV

And this one;

“When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.  

Matthew 14:13‭-‬14 NIV

As well as many others. Each show Christ having compassion on people, the masses. These have been resonating in my heart for quite some time, and being here it breaks in compassion for these people. The world is a shattered place, and broken people fill its land. Broken people are who God chosen to be apart of his plan, not perfect, not those who “have it all together”, not those who are well off, but the world and its people. Being here shown me even more so what I need to do, and the need that is present.

Looking around the cities we been to, I’ve seen many who sent their children to work at a restraunt, or any place to provide, but I’ve also regonized that there have been those who been taken away from their families and sold into different areas of work. I recently found out that because Myanmar is no longer fully military controlled, more and more of those who sell children are being sent to jail. Before, it was kept in the downlow, but now things are coming to the light.

Only a few more places remain, and it is difficult to remain still. But a song by Colton Dixon keeps looking in my head, and I suggest looking it up, called Breath. My prayer is that God will continue to break my heart for what breaks his, and that he will radically change and use me, the way he desires.

In Christ,

Ryan

Leave a Reply

