BC Juniors Global

Join Barclay College students as they learn about Christian life, service, and leadership in the global classroom.

Love 

Leave a comment

Tomorrow we will be leaving Myanamar for good. Thinking about that makes me sad because we are leaving and I don’t know when I will be back. I am excited to go back to Thailand and even more excited for Cambodia. I’m going to miss all the families we have met here in Myanamar, I’m thankful that we got to hang out and meet so many people here. I’m also going to miss our friend Pa Kep. He has been so awesome and he is always there to make us all smile and laugh. He is a joy to be around. He translated for us while we have been in Myanmar. He has ordered our food at restaurants and he has translated everything we wanted to communicate to the kids for our program. I’m glad I got to meet such a fun, God loving guy. I’m happy to call him my friend. Its not a stretch to say that our ministry or time in Myanmar wouldn’t have been possible without Pa Kep’s willingness to help. 
Constantly being around new people, new sights, new foods, new smells, and new surroundings is challenging in many ways. I am challenged to see these new things as different instead of wrong. Everything around me is not wrong just different. It has honestly been difficult to see it that way. When we see things that we are not used to we automatically think that it is wrong. That’s not the case, it is not wrong just different. It is easier said than done to think like this, and it has been quite the challenge for me. I am thankful that God called me out of my comfort zone to see these things that are so different because it has helped me in my own life. 

When we experience new and different things it is our tendency to automatically judge someone or something for being different. It is not our place to judge, we are all called to love. 1 John 4:11 says “Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.” It is so amazing the amount of love we receive from God. I am guilty of judging someone instead of loving them even when I’m back in the States. I have realized though that while being here I am judging people because what I see is wrong. It is not wrong just different and I should love them. I could pray for them or even offer a nice smile. It is hard to do this being in a new environment, but I am working on it and I am hoping that I will learn to love more and judge less when I’m back in the States. 

Thank you all for your prayers and encouraging messages. Continue to pray for our travels and health and also the kids that we reaching at these houses. Some of their stories are hard to believe because they are so tramautizing, yet they love life and are some of the happiest kids. 

Leave a Reply

