BC Juniors Global

Join Barclay College students as they learn about Christian life, service, and leadership in the global classroom.

Be Still. Trust. Act.

Leave a comment

I am currently in the air somewhere between Chicago and Montreal and it is still such a surreal feeling that I will be in Greece soon. As I am sitting here and my team is resting around me Psalm 46:10 came to mind,

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

I thought of how I have not really had a chance to sit and be present with the Lord a whole lot over the last few days because of crazy last minute preparations for this trip. So I pulled out my Bible and began reading in Jeremiah because I really like the story-format of the Old Testament a lot, especially in the midst of my quiet moments with the Lord. I like the Old Testament stories because I am always reminded that the Lord works in absolutely astounding ways through the most unlikely of people and that encourages me so greatly.

 

In the first chapter of Jeremiah, we find the call of Jeremiah:

Now the word of the Lord came to me saying,
“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Then I said, “Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” But the Lord said to me,
“Do not say that you are only a youth;
for to all whom I send you, you shall go,
and whatever I command you, you shall speak.
Do not be afraid of them,
for I am with you to deliver you,” declares the Lord.

Then the Lord put out His hand and touched my mouth. And the Lord said to me,
“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.
See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms,
to pluck up and to break down,
to build and to plant.”

Jeremiah 1:4-10

As I am sitting here flying above the clouds, I am meditating on these seven verses and thinking of how applicable they are to my current situation. The Lord knew me from the very beginning just as He knew you..I am not sure if you have fully grasped that yet. Before you were even in the womb, the God of the Universe knew exactly who you were going to be; He knew what your passions and purpose would be; He knew what your strengths and weaknesses were going to be. He knew all of these things because He was creating you so intricately to be specifically that. So not only were these words true for Jeremiah, they are also true for us, today.

I love this next part where the Lord kind of puts Jeremiah in his place. Jeremiah tries to make an excuse for why he thinks that he is underqualified for the calling the Lord has given but the response is, “Do not say that you are only a youth; for to all whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you.” The Lord refuses to accept man-made excuses because He knows just how truy capable we are. 

I laugh at myself, because this is exactly where I have been over the last eight months in preparation for this trip. I was accepted to be on the team and then I backed out because of finances. I had a come to Jesus moment on December 28, 2016 with Joshua 18:3 which basically says, how long are you going to put off stepping into what God has already done for you? God reminded me that He would never lead me somewhere that He would not provide the means to get there. After that moment in the quiet of the early morning, I remember praying, “Okay, God. If I really am supposed to go to Greece, provide my deposit before I move back in for the spring semester.” Later that day my sister, Keari, gave me the exact amount for the deposit and I cried and said, “Okay, I get it. I am going to Greece.” And here I am, in a plane on the way to Athens. There was a moment probably once a week at least where I would question if I was capable of what this trip will require, but God would always come through and prove Himself and His provision to me. As each money deadline approached, I never had the funds necessary, but at the last minute, He always provided..proving to me that the words He spoke to me that December day were tried and true.

As we make our way into Athens in the next 24 hours and begin our work in the ministry, my prayer is that we remember the power that lives in us and the strength that guides our path.

“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.
See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms,
to pluck up and to break down,
to build and to plant.”

Though our trip is taking place at the end of the summer rather than the beginning, I believe the Lord has spoken these words over us just as He spoke them over Jeremiah many years ago. He has plucked us up from our comfort zones and our safety nets, broken us down to bring us here so that we can continue to build into what He is already doing here and to even plant new seeds of His love.

Just as the title of this is Be Still. Trust. Act. my prayer is that during this journey, we will remember to first be still. Second, trust that the words God speaks to us are true. And finally that we will act boldly and confidently in everything we do in the days to come.

 

Until next time,
April 

Author: aprilmae19

I love to laugh. I am a college senior pursuing a BA in Bible and Theology at Barclay College. My walk with the Lord is my biggest priority in life. I love books and all things Narnia, 80s, art, giraffes, and lime green. I love to go on coffee and chai dates to build relationships with people and I also love relationship building through art dates. I love people for who they are. I love getting to know people and learning how they tick. The best is when you bring up a topic that is something they're passionate about and they immediately light up, their entire demeanor changes- it's so beautiful. I've contemplated starting a blog since I was a junior in high school, but I just never got around to it. I've come to a point in my life where I constantly have a plethora of things running through my mind and I want a place to share them. With that being said, I will be filling this blog with lots of things about my walk with God and things I believe or question, my art will probably end up all over, music that I'm consumed with at any given point, my thoughts on family and friends, and really anything else that comes to my mind that I feel like sharing. Thanks for choosing to read this and experience life with me. So, without further ado, welcome to the beautiful catastrophe that I call my mind. -April Mae (:

Leave a Reply

